Bad Taste
And Why There's No Such Thing

By (author) Nathalie Olah

ISBN13: 9780349702261

Imprint: Dialogue Books

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group

Format: Hardback

Published: 06/07/2023

Availability: Not yet available

Description
This is a book about taste, or lack thereof. It is about the growing importance that we place on subjective ideas of taste in a culture that is saturated by imagery, and the sometimes damaging impact this can have on our identities, communities and politics. Who are the tastemakers and how does their power impact our world, and everyday decisions? Nathalie Olah sets out on a journey to discover who is pulling the strings: in the high street clothing chains, behind the closed doors of political leaders, to the polished faces of TV personalities and inside high-end restaurants. Tastemakers claim to work for you, but in fact, Olah will show how they do the very opposite. Only by freeing yourself from the tyranny of the dominant taste can you begin to make your own choices at last. Bold, original, provocative and often laugh-out-loud funny, Bad Taste is an eye-opening tale about cultural appropriation, dominant culture and our individual place within it. Fans of John Berger, The Establishment or Naomi Klein will love this book.
  • Society & culture: general
  • Professional & Vocational
  • Tertiary Education (US: College)
Height:
Width:
Spine:
Weight:41.00
List Price: £16.99